Did you know, every year Fashion Group International of Dallas hosts the longest running and largest fashion career event of its kind in the country? This year on April 12 over 1,200 students from more than 44 colleges and universities across 12 states, participated in the Fashion Group International of Dallas, 45th Annual Career Day to compete for scholarships of over $40,000.

Holly Hmielewski

Winner of the Shelly Musselman Fashion Design Award, Holly Hmielewski.

The 2013 co-chairs Rosanne HartMarilyn Stewart and Rhonda Sargent Chambers worked tirelessly all year, and the event was a huge success thanks to presenting sponsor J.C. Penney and the scholarships sponsors that awarded the deserving students. The daylong event, after months of planning, and preparing by all, ended with a runway fashion show finale that showcased performances by students from the Dallas Black Dance Theatre and honoured the winning students—produced by RSC Productions.

The morning keynote speaker Stephanie George, shared over 20 years of media and publishing experience—formerly the Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer at Time Inc., whose marketing efforts included magazines such as People, InStyle, Essence, and Entertainment Weekly.Afternoon speaker—Texas native, Levi Palmer studied pattern cutting at El Centro and upon graduation won Best in Show at FGI Dallas Career Day in 2003. After graduating from Central St. Martins in 2009 with a B.A., and then in 2010 with an M.A. in Fashion Design, Levi establishedPalmer//Harding a womenswear and menswear label with his partner Matthew Harding, which launched at London Fashion Week in 2011.

Multiple breakout panels throughout the day showcased experts in their respective fields such as the Fashion Design panel, which featured Isabel Varela of IZAVEL, and Angela Scott from The Office of Angela Scott, the Fashion Illustration panel was hosted by Geoffrey Henning, Vice President of Women’s Design at J.C. Penney, and the FGI Dallas Fashion & Lifestyle Awards –Rising Star Award Winners panel featured conversations with Khanh Nguyen of Nha Khanh, Prashi Shah of Prashe, and Elizabeth Showers of Elizabeth Showers Jewelry.

Brian Bolke and Meredith Musselman selected three Best of Show students for the Shelly Musselman Fashion Design Award—Holly Hmielewski, Claire Ferran and Nicolas ChampRoux.  This year the Shelly Musselman Fashion Design Award a $10,000 scholarship was awarded to, Holly Hmielewski from Stephens College—she will present a capsule collection sponsored by boutique Forty Five Ten at the FGI Dallas: Fashion & Lifestyle Awards ‘Night of Stars’ on November 15—Save The Date!

Kim Pham winner of the Paris American Academy scholarship will travel to Paris to study during the summer semester at the prestigious Paris American Academy, which includes all airfare, tuition and spending money.

This year Fashion Group International of Dallas awarded scholarships for the following categories:

  • Paris American Academy – Best in Show AwardKim Pham, University of North Texas.
  • The Shelly Musselman Fashion Design AwardHolly Hmielewski, Stephens College.
  • FGI Dallas President’s AwardNicolas ChampRoux from Houston Community College.
  • Wool Award: Kim Pham, University of North Texas
  • Re-Purposed Denim: Amelia E. Williams, Mississippi State University.

Awarded student scholarships were kindly donated by the following companies:

Activewear Design Award: Xen-Tan, awarded to Holly Hmielewski – Stephens College, Maria Ainsa – Texas Tech, Brianna Johnson – University of Texas.

Best of Sewing AwardCity Sewing Machine LLC, awarded to Nicolas ChampRoux

Bridal Award: Watters, awarded to Andrea Caro – Texas Women’s University, Ashley Pugh – University of Incarnate Word, Meaghan Klafehn – University of Texas/Austin.

Casual Design: Sharon Young Inc., awarded to Adriana Hurtado – Houston Community College, Maria Hammond – Houston Community College, Elizabeth Keebler – Stephens College.

Career Wear: Galleria Dallas, awarded to Claire Ferran – Houston Community College, Maria Hammond – Houston Community College, Helena Stefanowicz – Baylor University.

Cocktail & Eveningwear: Elements, awarded to Teresa Rangel – Houston Community College, Yan Xia – El Centro College, Kim Pham – University of North Texas.

Cotton Design: Texas Cotton Producers, awarded to Holly Hmielewski – Stephens College, Cristal Martinez – University of Texas/Austin, Nicolas ChampRoux – Houston Community College.

Fashion Illustration AwardNeiman Marcus Willow Bend, awarded to Ana Jiminez – University of Incarnate Word.

Little Red DressDallas Market Center, awarded to Lilit Roberti Matevosyan – University of North Texas, Caleb Thompson – Baylor University, Crystal Perez – Texas Tech.

Merchandising Excellence Award: Davaco, awarded to Marissa Baca – Texas Women’s University, Stephanie Perez – Texas Woman’s University, Ashley Marie Taylor – University of Arkansas/Fayetteville.

Menswear Design Award: RSC Productions, awarded to Nicolas ChampRoux – Houston Community College, Megan Surber – University of North Texas.

Theatre & Artwear AwardShemara Couture, awarded to Caitlin Moore – Texas Tech, Andre Redou – Houston Community College, Thong Nguyen – Texas Tech.

Winners of the Texas Natural Fibers Trend Boards were presented to Caroline Cotton, Oklahoma State University for Cotton Trend Boards and Emma McCormick, Stephen F. Austin for Wool Trend Boards.

If you would like to get involved with Career Day 2014, visit Career Day and FGI.org for more details.