An abundance of fashion aficionados and celebrated celebrities adorned in heavenly gowns sauntered down the red carpet Monday evening for the annual Met Gala’s exhibition opening for, “Heavenly Bodies: Fashion and the Catholic Imagination.” In particular, one golden goddess wearing a Versace chainmail gown embellished with crucifixes looked less ethereal, and more like the eternal influencer: Kim Kardashian.

Kylie Jenner, Kim Kardashian, Kendall Jenner

Sisters, Kylie Jenner in Alexander Wang, Kim Kardashian in Versace, Kendall Jenner in Off-White at the 2018 Met Gala.

Just announced, Kim Kardashian will be honoured at the upcoming CFDA Awards on June 4 as the first recipient of the CFDA Influencer Award.

Apropos, but what’s surprising to me is not the award itself, or that it’s Ms Kardashian, but that it’s taken this long for the American fashion industry to acknowledge the power of the influencer. Only this past Sunday, on CBS Sunday Morning with Alina Cho, the conversation featured social media influencers, Tina Craig of Bag Snob and Bryan Yambao of Bryanboy. Collectively, between reality TV stars and social media stars, this peer-to-peer influencing on a massive scale didn’t just happen overnight. Perhaps this is the only award appropriately bestowed upon Kardashian, but it’s time for those that influence spending power are acknowledged for the social power they yield.

Hosting the 2018 CFDA Awards on June 4 at the Brooklyn Museum, actress Issa Rae, another first—an African-American host. With less than a month to go, till the next red-carpet extravaganza, the question will be: what will Kim Kardashian wear to the CFDA Awards?

The 2018 CFDA Awards nominees are:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Gabriela Hearst, Marc Jacobs, Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, and Raf Simons for Calvin Klein.

Menswear Designer of the Year Award: Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Thom Browne, Tom Ford, James Jebbia for Supreme and Raf Simons for Calvin Klein.

Accessory Designer of the Year Award: Paul Andrew, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Irene Neuwirth, Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, and Stuart Vevers for Coach.

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Mike Amiri for Amiri, Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Aurora James for Brother Vellies, Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan.

The honorary awards go to: Fashion Icon Award: Naomi Campbell, Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Diane von Furstenberg, Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Narciso Rodriguez, Founder’s Award in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert: Carolina Herrera, Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Edward Enninful, and the International Award: Donatella Versace.

With commanding star power, this year Kardashian will single-handedly increase the awareness of the CFDA, the CFDA Awards and all its honorees. Smart move by the board of the CFDA to initiate this award!