An internationally recognised art star, British contemporary artist Tracey Emin, will be honoured at the annual MTV RE:DEFINE art auction and gala in Dallas next month. Pick a word to describe Emin’s work, or perhaps, pick an acronym, CBE, RA, and YBA—letters that tell a compelling story.

Kenny Goss, Tracey Emin and Joyce Goss at Emin's Studio

Kenny Goss, Tracey Emin and Joyce Goss at Emin’s Studio in London

When Kenny met Tracey… #EminTV #mtvredefine

A post shared by MTV RE:DEFINE (@mtvredefine) on

With a collective of accolades from a prolific career, Emin, a member of the Young British Artists (YBAs) movement in the 1990s, was nominated for the Turner Prize in 1999. Famed for her controversial work, My Bed, (1998), an actual unmade bed used by Emin, which she describes as a self-portrait of her traumatic relationship break-up, soiled with ashtrays, alcohol and used condoms, was exhibited at Tate Gallery and shortlisted for the Turner Prize. Although she didn’t win, the controversial work set in motion her artist celebrity status—purchased by Charles Saatchi for £150k in 2000, Christie’s sold the artwork in 2014 for just over £2.5M. At the end of 2012, Emin was announced to the New Year’s Honour’s List, 2013, by Queen Elizabeth II and awarded a Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) for services to the arts.

The year 2007 was a momentous one for Emin, as the second woman to represent Great Britain at the British Pavilion during the 52nd Venice Biennale (the first, Rachel Whiteread, 1997). Emin was also awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the Royal College of Art, formally appointed as the professor of drawing, and announced as a “Royal Academicians” that warrants the use of “RA” after her name—the London Metropolitan University also honoured Emin as a Doctor of Philosophy.

In September that same year, Kenny Goss and George Michael (co-founders of The Goss-Michael Foundation and MTV RE:DEFINE), friends of Emin and collectors of her work, exhibited, “A Tribute to Tracey Emin,” at the inaugural opening of The Goss-Michael Foundation in Dallas. The exhibition, featuring 25 acquired pieces of work, included the neon text, George Loves Kenny, (2007).

George Loves Kenny, 2007, Tracey Emin

George Loves Kenny, 2007, Tracey Emin

Apropos, a year after MTV RE:DEFINE paid tribute to the late George Michael at the 2017 gala, it seems befitting for Kenny and MTV RE:DEFINE to celebrate Emin for her incredible, at times controversial, yet always pioneering contributions to the art world. Emin is the first female artist to be honoured at MTV RE:DEFINE, which will also highlight the collective talents of women artists. Emin embodies the definition of female empowerment in art, through her confessional and autobiographical art spanning mediums such as monoprints, paintings, photography, neon texts, needlework, and sculpture.

Paintings by Ian Davenport, Francesco Clemente, Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, and Richard Phillips

MTV RE:DEFINE 2017, paintings by Ian Davenport, Francesco Clemente, Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, and Richard Phillips – photo credit: Kristina Bowman

Paintings by Julio Le Parc and Harland Miller

MTV RE:DEFINE 2017, paintings by Julio Le Parc and Harland Miller- photo credit: Kristina Bowman

It makes perfect sense that Dallas is celebrating Emin—Kenny Goss shared, “She’s a great friend and an amazing artist, and Dallas adores her.” MTV RE:DEFINE will be presented by NorthPark Center and tented at the CenterPark Garden on Friday, April 13, benefitting MTV Staying Alive Foundation and Dallas Contemporary. This year marks the 40th anniversary of Dallas Contemporary and the 20th anniversary of MTV Staying Alive Foundation. Celebrations all around… oh, and by the way, full disclosure I’m co-chair! So join me with hosts, Joyce Goss and Kenny Goss, auctioneer Simon de Pury and my co-chair Brooke Davenport, along with this fantastic crew.

Ambassadors: Jessica Nowitzki, Kari Schlegel Kloewer, Krystal Schlegel, Kimberly Schlegel Whitman, Anna-Sophia Van Zweden

Art Committee: Peter Doroshenko, Kenny Goss, CJ Jones, Justine Ludwig, Jérôme Sans, and Neville Wakefield

Host Committee: Moll and Charlie Anderson, Dina and Jason Arnott, Anais Assoun, Kimberly and James Aston, Natalie and James Bloomingdale, Kary and Eduardo Brittingham, Rebecca and Ken Bruder, Barbara Buzzell, Chris Byrne, Sami Arslanlar and John Clutts, Heidi and Bill Dillon, Claire and Dwight Emanuelson, Melanie and Jordan Fowler, Mark Giambrone, Sue and Jimmy Gragg, Sheryl and Geoff Green, Brian Bolke and Faisal Halum, Julie and Ed Hawes, Bill Hutchinson, Kelle and Joe Jackson, Lonnie Jordan, Jennifer and Tom Karol, Elisabeth Karpidas, Mark and Diane LaRoe, Jim Lazar, Laura and Rick Lear, Muffin and John Lemak, Jo Marie Lily, Cristina Lynch, Karla and Mark McKinley, Ann McReynolds, Lea and JD Miller, Preeta Monga, Selwyn Rayzor and Rich Moses, Michelle Moussa, Jessica Nowitzki, Cara and Gary Owens, Rajan Patel, Wendy Payne, Richard Phillips, Harris Polakoff, Terri Provencal, Stephanie and John Roberts, Nancy C. Rogers, Shelly and Barry Rosenberg, Margot Ruebel, Christie Sheffield and Matt Rutledge, Capera Ryan, Krystal Schlegel, Cindy and Armond Schwartz, Deborah and John Scott, Gowri and Alex Sharma, Robyn and Michael Siegel, Margaret Solomon, Alicia Froio and Mark Solomon, Scott Kehn and Chuck Steelman, Anne and Steve Stodghill, Caroline Summers, Eric Nelson and Filippo Tattoni-Marcozzi, Ashley Tatum, Joanne and Charles Teichman, Halina von Kempski Rakoszyn, Niven Morgan and Shelby Wagner, Jenny and Russell Walker, Logan Waller, Robert Weatherly, Jane and Don Weempe, Kim and Justin Whitman, Christen Wilson, Megan and Brady Wood, Lucy and Steve Wrubel, and Piper and Mike Wyatt.

For more details on the gala and to purchase tickets or follow the auction, visit here.